God, My Father

We live in a time where the concept of “father” is significantly flawed. Shows on television paint a horrible picture of what a father should be, and certainly, many fathers today do not help the matter. Single moms are prevalent, and many dads, even if physically present, are very much absent from the home. Ask someone what images they have when they think of their dad and many times the answer is overwhelmingly fear, abuse and neglect.

It is no wonder when God calls himself Father that many do not want anything to do with him. If their earthly fathers were at best neglectful, why would someone think that God could be any different? However, the prophet Isaiah helps paint a beautiful picture of a God who is the epitome of what a father should be. In Isaiah 9:6, God gives himself the name “Everlasting Father.” Wow. This is truly an oxymoron for today, yet in his wisdom, God knew exactly what what we would need in the here and now from him. He is a Father who will never abandon, neglect or abuse. Isaiah continues painting this picture with verses like Isaiah 41:10 – “Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.” God, our Father, will hold us with his right hand – his strong hand. And again, Isaiah 41:13 – “For I hold you by your right hand — I, the Lord your God. And I say to you, ‘Don’t be afraid. I am here to help you.'”

Can’t you see the picture of a dad and a small child, hand in hand, walking together? This is the relationship that the Lord has designed us for. This is the relationship that he ensured we could have when he let go of the hand of his precious, only begotten Son and allowed it to be nailed to a cross. The only, begotten Son of God cried, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” so that we would never have to.

– Jay LeBlanc

Leave a comment